## Sunday 7 September

**08.30-09.45:** Breakfast for alumni staying overnight in College

**09.45-10.30:** Debriefing meeting for Steering Group in G2

(First Court)

**10.30-11.30:** Coffee in the Master's Garden or SCR (if wet) for all

## NOTE:

Participants may claim 3 'external' CPD points if they wish. A certificate of attendance is available at the registration desk.





## Christ's College Medical Alumni Association Meeting

6-7 September 2014

**Programme** 

## Saturday 6 September

**12.30-13.30:** Sandwich lunch in the Function Room

13.30-13.55: Business meeting, chaired by **Dr Tom Turmezei** 

(m.1996) (Yusuf Hamied Theatre)

To be discussed:

• Notes from last meetings (April 2012 and February 2014 joint meeting with CCMS)

• Medical Alumni Profiling Project

• State of the fund

• *Committee membership* 

Dates for next meetings: December 2014, 7 March 2015, 9 April 2016

13.55-14.00: President's welcome to meeting and announcements

14.00-15.30: Session 1

Chair: Dr Tim Heymann (m. 1980)

**14.00-14.30:** Lecture: **Dr Steve Bown** (m. 1962)

Population, Sustainability and Global Health

**14.30-14.45:** Presentation on Elective travel: studying

aspects of healthcare in Canada by **Eugene Wong** (m. 2009), a clinical student sponsored

by the CCMAA

**14.45-15.30:** Case presentation: **Dr Tom Boyd** (m. 1970)

**15.30-16.00:** Tea (Function Room)

16.00-17.00: Session 2

Chair: Prof Theresa Marteau (Fellow)

**16.00-16.20: Dr Rashmi Patel** (m. 2002)

The application of text mining to electronic

health records

**16.20-17.00:** A discussion on the pros and cons of the

health service database (panel to include Mike

Morgan m. 1969, Mike Knapton m. 1977)

17.15-18.15: Session 3: Public Lecture

Chair: **Dr Andrew Sharkey** (m. 1979)

Prof Jim Smith FRS, FMedSci (m. 1973,

Honorary Fellow)

Driving human cell differentiation: lessons

from the frog

**19.15:** Drinks in the Fellows' Garden (OCR if wet)

**19.45:** Dinner in Hall (black tie preferred)

The after-dinner speaker will be **Dr Ed Wild** (m. 1996)

The vote of thanks will be given by **Dr Fazal Hasan** (m.1979)