Distinguished Members

Christ’s commitment to free-thinking and high-achieving across many disciplines and interests has generated a range of graduates who have made major and varied contributions to the intellectual, social, artistic and sporting life of the world. Click below to find out more about some of these remarkable Christ’s people (this list is a work-in-progress and should by no means be considered exhaustive).

Politics & Government

Zeid al-Hussein (1964-) - UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
Lady Margaret Beaufort (1443-1509) - Foundress and Mother of the Tudor dynasty
Earl Mountbatten of Burma (1900-1979) - Supreme Commander South East Asia and Viceroy of India
Thomas Nelson Jnr. (1738-1789) - Politician who signed the American Declaration of Independence
Dr Davidson Nicol (1924-1994) - Sierra Leonean Doctor, Permanent Representative to the United Nations, and Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations  
Jan Smuts (1870-1950) - Founding influence on League of Nations (UN) and Chancellor of the University
Baron Charles (C.P.) Snow (1905-1980) Novelist and civil servant


The Rt Hon Sir Patrick Coghlin (1945-) Lord Justice of Appeal in Northern Ireland
Baron Patrick Devlin (1905 - 1992) Lawyer, Judge, Jurist, Law Lord and life peer
Lord Irvine of Lairg (1940 -) Former Lord Chancellor
Lord Moore-Bick (1946-) Lord Justice of Appeal


Professor John Burrow (1935-2009) Modern Historian
Professor Sir David Cannadine (1950-) Historian and broadcaster
Professor Linda Colley (1949-) Historian
Professor J. P. Kenyon (1927 - 1996) Modern Historian
John Leland (c.1506-1552) - Father of English history
Professor Sir John Plumb (1911 - 2001) Historian, entrepreneur and Master of Christ's
Professor Roy Porter (1946-2002) Historian
Professor Simon Schama (1945- ) Historian and broadcaster

The Arts

Auguste Bréal (1869-1941) Painter
Clare Burnett (1964 -) Artist and sculptor
Sir Anthony Caro (1924-2013) Sculptor
Dr Rachel Chaplin (1980-) Baroque oboist and researcher
Tom de Freston - Artist
Colin Dexter (1930- ) Writer of the Inspector Morse series of books
Edward Docx (1972-) Author
Adetomiwa Edun (1984 -)  Actor    
Dee Ferris - Artist
Lachlan Goudie (1976 - ) Painter, writer and presenter
James Hilton (1900-1954) Novelist 
Sarah Howe (1983 - ) Poet
Professor Phillip King (1934-) Sculptor
Issam Kourbaj (1963-) Artist and sculptor
John Milton (1608-1674) Poet
Annilese Miskimmon (1974- ) Opera director
Helen Mort (1985-) Poet
Sukanya Rajaratnam (1974-) Art Curator
Dr Charles Saumarez Smith (1954-) Cultural historian. Secretary of the Royal Academy of Arts, Director of the National Portrait Gallery, Director of the National Gallery
Sir Nicholas Serota (1946- ) Director of the Tate Gallery  
Sir Jeffrey Tate (1943- ) Conductor                                                                     

Media & Television

Sacha Baron Cohen (1971- ) Satirist and actor
Jasmine Birtles (1962-) TV Presenter, commentator, journalist
Nina Gould (1964-) Casting Direct
Natalie Haynes (1974- ) Comedian and journalist
Duncan Kenworthy (1949-) Director and producer
Gautam Malkani (1976- ) Journalist and prize-winning novelist
Jane Martinson (1967-) Journalist
Miles Millar (1967-) Screenwriter, producer
John Oliver (1977-) Comedian and broadcaster
Andy Parsons (1967-) Comedian
James Reynolds (1974 - ) BBC Correspondent Rome
Sathnam Sanghera (1976- ) Journalist and novelist
Richard Whiteley (1943-2005) Television presenter


Sir Jagadis Chandra Bose (1858-1937) - Pioneer of electro- magnetic waves
Professor John Clark (1951-2004) - Pioneer of the genetic modification of livestock
Charles Darwin (1809-1882)
Professor Sir Martin Evans (1941- ) Biologist and Nobel Laureate
Professor Alfred Cort Haddon (1855-1940) - Father of modern anthropology
Professor Duncan Haldane (1951-) Physicist and Nobel Laureate
Dr Yusuf Hamied (1936- ) Chemist and industrialist
Professor Anthony Hunter (1943 -) American Cancer Society Professor
William Lee (1563-1614) Inventor
Dr Francis (Tibby) Marshall (1878-1949) - Father of mammalian reproduction  
Professor Anne McLaren (1927-2007) - Scientist and quiet revolutionary
Professor Robert Oppenheimer (1904-1967) - Father of the Atomic Bomb and radical activist
Lord Todd (1907-1997) Nobel Laureate, chemist and 32nd Master of Christ's
Conrad Hal Waddington (1905-1975) - Developmental biologist and geneticist

Business and Economics

Sir Ian Cheshire (1959 -) British Businessman
Jonathan Galassi (1949 -) Businessman and poet
David Ross Granger (1903 - 2002) Businessman
Dr Mike Lynch (1965 -) Businessman and technology entrepreneur
James Meade (1907-1995) - British economist and Nobel Prize winner
Martin Sorrell (1945- ) Business leader

Theology & Religion

William Paley (1743-1805) - Creationist author of 'Natural Theology' which contains a very early presentation of the watchmaker analogy
Rowan Williams (Baron Williams of Oystermouth) (1950- ) 104th Archbishop of Canterbury and Master of Magdelene College, Cambridge from 2013


Ian Anthony Balding (1938-) Racehorse trainer
Gilbert Jessop (1896 - 1955) Cricketer and record batsman
Tony Lewis (1938-) Former England Cricket Captain
Steve Palmer (1968-) Footballer
Ian Robertson (1945-) Rugby commentator
Kieran West (1977-) Olympic Rowing Gold medallist